EAST HOATH WITH HALLAND PARISH COUNCIL

NRIGHBOURHOOD PLAN STEERING GROUP

Draft Minutes of the Meeting of the Steering Group held on August 15 2018

- 1. <u>Apologies:</u> Jonathan Walker, Gill Kennedy, Pippa Cossens, David Chapman
- 2. <u>Present:</u> Diane Knill (Chair), David Vaughan (Chair, East Hoathly with Halland Parish Council, Chris Magness (Chair Planning Committee, East Hoathly with Halland Parish Council, Tony Pope, Sue Cole, Gina Cuthbertson, Victoria Crick, Richard Partridge, Peter Brooke.
- 3. <u>Minutes and Addendum of the meeting of June 25 2018.</u> These were agreed as a true record of the meeting and were signed by the Chair.

4. <u>Steering Group Membership.</u>

4.1.Kate Richardson had been suggested as a possible new member of the Steering Group to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of Cllr John Deane from the Parish Council and when approached had said that she was willing. The Steering Group unanimously agreed to her joining the Group.

4.2. The Steering Group after discussion agreed that they did not think there would be any conflict between Kate Richardson's role as Chair of Village Concerns and her membership of he Steering Group.

4.3. The Chair explained that David Vaughan and Chris Magness were both ex officio members of the Steering Group.

5. Wealden Local Plan Consultation.

5.1. WDC had confirmed that 18 houses had gained planning permission since October 2017.

5.2. 30 Houses appeared to remain as part of the windfall allowance. It seems these can be developed either within or without the village 'envelope'. However the letter from WDC was not entirely clear on this matter and further clarification will be sought.

5.3. The Hesmonds application did not comply with the WDC local plan and it was unlikely that it would be approved in its present form by WDC.

5.4. Any submissions regarding the Local Plan must be made by October 13th. It was agreed that a submission would be made to WDC and Jonathan Walker would be asked to lead a sub group who would draft the letter to WDC. The following agreed to help draft the submission: Jonathan Ritchie, Tony Pope, Peter Brooke, Victoria Crick. The new chair of the Steering Group when appointed would also be invited to assist with drafting the submission.

6. <u>Reorganisation of the Steering Group</u>

6.1. Two discussion documents had been circulated to members which outlined how the Steering Group could be reorganised and reduce the workload of the Chair.

6.2. It was agreed that the method outlined in Discussion Document 2 was the best way forward.

6.3. The Steering Group would be reorganised as follows: Chair, Minute Secretary, Steering Group Members who would also be leads in the Discussion/Consultation Groups. The responsibilities of the above are as follows:

6.4. <u>Role of the Chair:</u> The Chair would act as the lead figure and contact for the Neighbourhood Plan and would have responsibilities for the following:

6.4.1. Chairing the Meeting of the Steering Group

6.4.2. Setting the Agenda for the Meetings

6.4.3. Submitting regular reports to the Parish Council.

6.4.4. Acting as the sole representative for the Neighbourhood Plan in respect of contracts, public relations, correspondence with public bodies , Feria UK , WDC etc. .

6.4.5. Acting as coordinator for the monthly reports submitted by the Leaders of the Consultation Groups (formerly known as Working Parties (see item 6.5.1).

6.4.6. To help and advise the Leaders of the Discussion Groups.

6.4.7. The Chair of the Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group did not need to be a member of the Parish Council

6.4.8. The appointment of the Chair of the Steering Group must be approved by the Parish Council.

6.5. The Minutes Secretary.

6.5.1. It was agreed that a Minutes Secretary should be appointed.

6.5.2. The Minutes Secretary would have responsibilities for:

6.5.3. taking the minutes at the Meetings of the Steering Group

6.5.4. After consultation with the Chair circulating the Draft Minutes to all members of the Steering Group.

6.5.5. Keeping an accurate Record of the Minutes

6.5.6 Ensuring that the Approved Minutes were entered on the Parish Council Website.

6.6. Consultation/Discussion Groups (formerly Working Parties) *.

6.6.1. It was agreed that the term Working Parties would no longer be used. They would instead be known, as Discussion/ Consultation Groups.

6.6.2. Discussion/Consultation Groups would be lead by a member of the Steering Group and each group would address a specific strategic policy (to be discussed at the next meeting). (see addendum for current list of the groups and their leaders)

6.6.3. The Leaders of a Group would contact as many members of the public as possible to ascertain what their views were on a specific policy and what their vision was for the future of East Hoathly and Halland in 15 -20 years time. Contact could be through meetings, e mails, local groups etc. The aim was to reach as many residents as possible. Leaders of a Group were encouraged to contact as many of the public as they could by e mail on an ad hoc basis

6.6.4. Leaders would produce an update on their progress, at least every 4 weeks. Their report would be circulated to all other Discussion/Consultation Groups and the Chair.

6.6.5. A discussion of the reports would occur at the monthly SG Meetings and the reports coordinated for submission on a monthly basis to the Parish Council by the Chair of the SG.

• The actual title of the groups whether Consultation or Discussion will be finalised at the meeting on September 13.

Diane Knill

Chair, Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group

ADDENDUM (To be discussed at Meeting on September 13.

List of current policies and leaders/members of Discussion Groups

Development Policy Lead: vacant Members: Jonathan Walker, Kathryn Richardson, Victoria Crick, Richard Partridge.

Employment and Business; Lead: Tony Pope Members none

Leisure, Sports Arts Craft Tourism: Lead: vacant Members : Jonathan Ritchie Gina Cuthbertson

Infra structure/Sustainability: Lead Richard Patrtridge. Members: Gill Kennedy.

Health and Well Being: Lead: Peter Brooke Members: Jonathan Walker

Environment and Countryside: Lead: vacant Members: Jonathan Walker, Katherine Gutkind, Peter Brooke, Sue Cole.